Semesterticket FAQ

How do I get my semester ticket?

Your semester ticket will be issued by ASEAG and sent to you by mail (to the semester address stored in RWTHonline). Please note that your enrollment must be completed, before ASEAG is able to mail out your ticket. This means that you must have submitted all documents correctly to RWTH and paid the semester fee.

When will I receive my semester ticket?

If you have enrolled up to 30 days before the start of the semester, you will receive your ticket at the latest two weeks before the start of the semester. If you enroll not later than ten days before the start of the semester, ASEAG will mail you your ticket no later than three days before the start of the semester. If you register later than ten days before the start of the semester or after the start of the semester, you can expect to receive your ticket within three to five days. If this does not happen, please contact ASEAG directly – either by e-mail (semesterticket@aseag.de) or directly at their service center.

Please note that your semester ticket is only valid from the beginning of the semester (01.10. or 01.04.), even if you receive it before then.

What do I have to consider with the address? Will the semester ticket also be mailed to an address outside of Germany?

The ticket will be mailed by ASEAG to the semester address stored in RWTHonline. If there is no semester address stored in RWTHonline, the ticket will be mailed to the home address stored in RWTHonline. However, the ticket will only be mailed if the address is in Germany, the Netherlands or Belgium. In other cases, the ticket is mailed to the corresponding International Office and must be picked up at there.

Please make sure to keep your address in RWTHonline up to date, otherwise no new semester ticket can be sent to you if, for example, your old one has expired.

Can the semester ticket also be picked up in person?

No, this is in general not possible. Only if your semester ticket could not be delivered due to a wrong address or other reasons and therefore ends up as a mail return at ASEAG, the ticket can be picked up on site at the ASEAG service center.

What can be the reasons that I have not yet received my semester ticket?

Possible reasons that you have not received the ticket yet could be:

  • Your enrollment is not yet complete. For example because of missing documents. ALL documents must have been submitted to RWTH completely, also e.g. the proof of health insurance.
  • You have not yet paid your semester fee
  • Your address stored in RWTHonline is wrong
  • Your address is outside of Germany, the Netherlands or Belgium. In this case, the ticket will not be mailed to you directly, but to the corresponding International Office and can be picked up there.
  • You changed your address (in RWTHonline) after the ticket was already produced by ASEAG, so ASEAG mailed it to your old address and the ticket could not be delivered. In this case, the ticket has been returned as a mail return to ASEAG and you can pick it up at the ASEAG service center.
Who is responsible for issuing the semester ticket?

ASEAG, as the transport company, is responsible for issuing and mailing out the tickets. The AStA has nothing to do with this. We are “only” the students’ representative body. Therefore, we cannot tell you if your ticket has already been mailed out by ASEAG. If your ticket has not arrived in time, please contact ASEAG directly via e-mail (semesterticket@aseag.de) or on site at the ASEAG service center.

What is the area of validity for the semester ticket?

The semester ticket is valid on all trains (RE, RB, S-Bahn, underground and tram) and buses of the local public transport system throughout NRW as well as on selected routes outside NRW (see above). In addition, students of RWTH, FH and KatHo Aachen can use their semester ticket on selected routes in South Limburg (Netherlands). An overview can also be found at the top of the page.

Please note: With the semester ticket you cannot travel with ICE, IC, EC, Thalys and other long-distance trains. It is also not possible to travel in 1st class. You always have to buy an extra ticket for this. Exceptions are also possible here. We will inform you explicitly when long-distance trains are released for the semester ticket on certain routes.

Is the semester ticket also valid in Belgium?

With the semester ticket you can only use line 24 to Kelmis Bruch in Belgium. Otherwise, the semester ticket is not valid in Belgium.

Is it allowed to travel with another person or a bike for free?

No. An exception is the transport of children according to the respective regulations of the transport associations. In the AVV (transport association Aachen), for example, you may take up to three children under the age of 15 on your semester ticket free of extra charge.

In addition, there are sometimes promotions of the transport associations for subscription customers. In such cases, passengers and, if applicable, bicycles may be allowed on certain days or during certain periods. We always inform explicitly about such offers on our website / social media.

My semester ticket has expired. What can I do?

The chip cards have a maximum validity period of five years. Therefore, they are replaced on a regular basis. If students are still eligible, they will automatically receive a new chip card by mail. ASEAG will send the new ticket about two weeks before the old ticket expires, so that continuous mobility can be guaranteed. For this reason, please keep your address in RWTHonline up to date!

If you do not receive a new ticket in time, e.g. because your address is not stored correctly in RWTHonline, it will probably end up as a mail return at ASEAG. In this case you can pick up your new ticket at the ASEAG service center. There is no fee for this.

More information and information about the next chip card exchange can be found on the RWTH website: https://www.rwth-aachen.de/cms/root/Die-RWTH/Mobilitaet/Semesterticket/~omxh/FAQ-eTicket/

The old ticket can be disposed of: simply cut up the card as small as possible, make all legible personal data – such as name and customer number – unrecognizable, and hand it in at a collection point for electrical equipment (chip cards are considered electrical equipment by law). Alternatively, the chip card can be sent to the ASEAG service center. ASEAG will then take care of the disposal for you.

ASEAG, as the transport company, is responsible for issuing and mailing out the tickets. The AStA has nothing to do with this. We are “only” the students’ representative body. Therefore, we cannot tell you if your ticket has already been mailed out by ASEAG. Please send such requests directly to ASEAG at semesterticket@aseag.de.

Does the semester ticket have an expiration date?

Yes, the chip cards generally have a maximum validity of five years. You can see how long your semester ticket is valid by the imprint on the ticket in the form month/year. Example: If the imprint says 7/22, the ticket is valid until the end of July 2022.

Students who are still eligible will automatically receive a new ticket by mail (to the semester address stored in RWTHonline), if their ticket has expired. It should be noted that the new ticket can only be used once the old one has expired. In the above example, the old semester ticket would have to be used until 31.07. and from 01.08. the new ticket has to be used.

The old ticket can then be disposed of: simply cut up the card as small as possible, make all legible personal data – such as name and customer number – unrecognizable and hand it in at a collection point for electrical equipment (chip cards are considered electrical equipment by law). Alternatively, the chip card can be sent to the ASEAG service center. ASEAG will then take care of the disposal for you.

Please note that the ticket is of course no longer valid after you have been exmatriculated – even if it would still be valid according to the imprint.

I have lost my semester ticket, what can I do?

You can get a new ticket issued at the ASEAG service center upon presentation of a valid certificate of study. However, a small fee will be charged for this.

Can I get a refund of the mobility fee if I do not use the ticket?

No, that is in general not possible, because the semester ticket is a solidary financed ticket. It is only so much cheaper than other tickets because everyone pays the same amount – regardless of how much the individual person uses the ticket. However, you can get the mobility fee refunded in special cases, e.g. due to a semester abroad or social hardship. See https://www.asta.rwth-aachen.de/en/reimbursement-of-the-mobility-contribution/

Can I use the semester ticket even if I am on leave of absence?

Yes, you can use your ticket normally – unless you have had the mobility fee refunded due to your leave of absence (see “Can I use the semester ticket even if I have had the mobility fee refunded? “)

Can I use the semester ticket even if I have had the mobility fee refunded?

No, if your mobility fee has been refunded, e.g. due to a leave of absence, a stay abroad, etc., your ticket is not valid in the semester for which the refund was granted. It will then only be valid again at the beginning of the following semester (01.10. or 01.04.).

This does not apply in the case of a refund due to social hardship. In this case you can use your ticket normally.

What happens if I exmatriculate before the end of the semester? Is my ticket then still valid until the end of the semester?

No, the validity of the ticket expires upon exmatriculation. If you have been exmatriculated more than one month before the end of the semester, you can request a partial refund of the mobility fee (see https://www.asta.rwth-aachen.de/en/reimbursement-of-the-mobility-contribution/)

I was caught without a ticket, what can I do?

If you have a valid semester ticket but could not show your ticket at a control because you lost or forgot it, you do not have to pay the full price for “fare evasion”. You can then show your valid ticket to the DB afterwards and only have to pay a administration fee (no guarantee). Information on this can be found at https://www.db-fahrpreisnacherhebung.de/faq.html

Contact

The reimbursement of the mobility fee is done according to the social regulations of the student body of RWTH Aachen University. If you have any questions regarding the reimbursement, please send an email to semesterticket@asta.rwth-aachen.de.

Semesterticket FAQ

Wie erhalte ich mein Semesterticket?

Dein Semesterticket wird durch die ASEAG ausgestellt und dir per Post zugeschickt (an die in RWTHonline hinterlegte Studienadresse). Bitte beachte, dass dafür deine Einschreibung vollständig abgeschlossen sein muss. D.h. du musst alle Dokumente korrekt bei der RWTH eingereicht sowie den Semesterbeitrag bezahlt haben.

Wann erhalte ich mein Semesterticket?

Wenn du dich bis 30 Tage vor dem Semesterbeginn eingeschrieben hast, erhältst du dein Ticket spätestens zwei Wochen vor Semesterbeginn. Wenn du dich nicht später als zehn Tage vor Semesterbeginn einschreibst, schickt die ASEAG das Ticket spätestens drei Tage vor Semesterbeginn an dich. Wenn du dich später als zehn Tage vor Semesterbeginn oder nach dem Semesterbeginn einschreibst, kannst du davon ausgehen, dass dir das Ticket innerhalb von drei bis fünf Tagen zugestellt wird. Sollte das nicht passieren, wende dich bitte direkt an die ASEAG – entweder per E-Mail unter semesterticket@aseag.de oder direkt vor Ort im Kundencenter.

Bitte beachte unbedingt, dass dein Semesterticket in jedem Fall erst ab dem Semesterbeginn (01.10. oder 01.04.) gültig ist, selbst wenn du es schon vorher erhältst.

Was muss ich bei der Adresse beachten? Wird das Semesterticket auch ins Ausland gesendet?

Das Ticket wird durch die ASEAG an die in RWTHonline hinterlegte Studienadresse geschickt. Wenn diese nicht vorhanden ist, wird das Ticket an die hinterlegte Heimatadresse geschickt. Das Ticket wird allerdings nur versendet, wenn die hinterlegte Adresse in Deutschland, den Niederlanden oder Belgien ist. In anderen Fällen wird das Ticket an das jeweilige International Office geschickt und kann dort abgeholt werden.

Bitte halte deine Adresse in RWTHonline unbedingt aktuell, ansonsten kann dir kein neues Semesterticket zugeschickt werden, wenn z.B. dein altes abgelaufen ist.

Kann das Semesterticket auch persönlich abgeholt werden?

Nein, das ist i.A. nicht möglich. Lediglich wenn dein Semesterticket aufgrund einer falschen Adresse oder aus sonstigen Gründen nicht zugestellt werden konnte und es deshalb als Postrückläufer wieder bei der ASEAG landet, kann das Ticket vor Ort im Kundencenter der ASEAG abgeholt werden.

 

Was können Gründe dafür sein, dass ich noch kein Semesterticket bekommen habe?

Mögliche Gründe dafür, dass du das Ticket noch nicht erhalten hast, könnten sein:

  • Deine Einschreibung ist noch nicht vollständig. Zum Beispiel wegen fehlender Unterlagen. Es müssen ALLE Dokumente bei der RWTH vollständig eingereicht worden sein, auch z.B. der Nachweis über die Krankenversicherung
  • Du hast deinen Semesterbeitrag noch nicht bezahlt
  • Deine Adresse ist falsch in RWTHonline hinterlegt
  • Deine Adresse liegt außerhalb von Deutschland, den Niederlanden oder Belgien. In diesem Fall wird dir das Ticket nicht direkt zugesendet, sondern an das jeweilige International Office, wo du es dann abholen kannst.
  • Du hast deine Adresse (in RWTHonline) geändert, nachdem das Ticket schon durch die ASEAG produziert wurde, sodass die ASEAG es an deine alte Adresse geschickt hat und das Ticket nicht zugestellt werden konnte. In diesem Fall ist das Ticket als Postrückläufer wieder bei der ASEAG gelandet und du kannst es dort im Kundencenter abholen.
Wer ist für die Ausstellung des Semestertickets zuständig?

Die ASEAG ist als Verkehrsunternehmen für die Ausstellung und den Versand der Tickets zuständig. Der AStA hat damit als Studierendenvertretung nichts zu tun. Daher können wir dir z.B. auch nicht sagen, ob dein Ticket bereits durch die ASEAG verschickt wurde, nachdem du dich neu eingeschrieben hast. Wenn dein Ticket nicht rechtzeitig angekommen ist, wende dich bitte direkt an die ASEAG unter semesterticket@aseag.de oder vor Ort im Kundencenter.

Wo gilt das Semesterticket?

Das Semesterticket gilt in allen Zügen (RE, RB, S-Bahn, U-Bahn und Straßenbahnen) sowie Bussen des Nahverkehrs in ganz NRW sowie auf ausgewählten Strecken außerhalb von NRW (siehe oben). Zudem können Studierende der RWTH, FH und KatHo Aachen mit ihrem Semesterticket ausgewählte Strecken in Süd-Limburg (Niederlande) nutzen. Eine Übersicht findet sich ebenfalls oben auf der Seite.

Bitte beachte: Mit dem Semesterticket kannst du nicht mit dem ICE, IC, EC, Thalys und anderen Zügen des Fernverkehrs fahren. Auch das Fahren in der 1. Klasse ist nicht möglich. Hierfür ist immer eine extra Fahrkarte zu kaufen. Ausnahmen sind auch hier möglich. Wir informieren explizit darüber, wenn auf bestimmten Strecken Züge des Fernverkehrs für das Semesterticket freigegeben werden.

Gilt das Semesterticket auch in Belgien?

Mit dem Semesterticket kann nur die Linie 24 bis Kelmis Bruch in Belgien genutzt werden. Ansonsten hat das Semesterticket keine Gültigkeit in Belgien.

Ist es erlaubt eine Person oder ein Fahrrad mitzunehmen?

Nein. Eine Ausnahme bildet die Mitnahme von Kindern nach den jeweiligen Bestimmungen der Verkehrsverbünde. Im AVV darfst du z.B. bis zu drei Kinder unter 15 Jahren kostenlos auf deinem Semesterticket mitnehmen.

Zudem gibt es manchmal Aktionen der Verkehrsverbünde für Abo-Kund*innen. Dann kann die Personen und ggf. Fahrradmitnahme für bestimmte Aktionstage oder -zeiträume erlaubt sein. Wir informieren über entsprechende Informationen immer explizit.

Mein Semesterticket ist abgelaufen. Was kann ich tun?

Die Chipkarten haben eine maximale Geltungsdauer von fünf Jahren. Somit werden diese regelmäßig ausgetauscht. Sofern Studierende weiterhin berechtigt sind, erhalten diese über den Postweg automatisch eine neue Chipkarte. Die ASEAG versendet das neue Ticket ca. zwei Wochen bevor das alte Ticket ausläuft, damit eine fortlaufende Mobilität gewährleitstet werden kann. Bitte halte aus diesem Grund deine Adresse in RWTHonline immer aktuell!

Erhältst du nicht rechtzeitig ein neues Ticket, weil z.B. deine Adresse nicht richtig in RWTHonline hinterlegt ist, wird es wahrscheinlich als Postrückläufer wieder bei der ASEAG gelandet sein. In dem Fall kannst du dein neues Ticket im Kundencenter der ASEAG abholen. Eine Gebühr wird hierfür nicht fällig.

Mehr Informationen und Informationen zum nächsten Chipkartentausch finden sich auf der Internetseite der RWTH: https://www.rwth-aachen.de/cms/root/Die-RWTH/Mobilitaet/Semesterticket/~omxh/FAQ-eTicket/

Das alte Ticket kann entsorgt werden: einfach die Karte möglichst kleinteilig zerschneiden, alle lesbaren persönlichen Daten – wie Name und Kundennummer – unkenntlich machen und bei einer Sammelstelle für Elektrogeräte abgeben (Chipkarten gelten gesetzlich als Elektrogeräte). Alternativ kann die Chipkarte an das Kundencenter der ASEAG geschickt werden. Dann übernimmt die ASEAG die Entsorgung für dich.

Hinweis: Die ASEAG ist als Verkehrsunternehmen für die Ausstellung und den Versand der Tickets zuständig. Der AStA hat damit als Studierendenvertretung nichts zu tun. Daher können wir dir z.B. auch nicht sagen, ob dein Ticket bereits durch die ASEAG verschickt wurde. Richte solche Anfragen bitte direkt an die ASEAG unter semesterticket@aseag.de

Hat das Semesterticket ein Ablaufdatum?

Ja, die Chipkarten haben i.A. eine maximale Geltungsdauer von fünf Jahren. Wie lange dein Semesterticket maximal noch gültig ist, erkennst du an dem Aufdruck auf dem Ticket in der Form Monat/Jahr. Beispiel: Bei dem Aufdruck 7/22 ist das Ticket bis Ende Juli 2022 gültig.

Wenn die Tickets abgelaufen sind, werden diese standardmäßig ausgetauscht, d.h. Studierende, die weiterhin berechtigt sind, erhalten automatisch ein neues Ticket per Post zugeschickt (an die in RWTHonline hinterlegte Studienadresse). Dabei ist zu beachten, dass das neue Ticket erst genutzt werden kann, wenn das alte abgelaufen ist. In dem oben genannten Beispiel müsste das alte Semesterticket bis zum 31.07. genutzt werden und ab dem 01.08. muss das neue Ticket genutzt werden.

Das alte Ticket kann dann entsorgt werden: einfach die Karte möglichst kleinteilig zerschneiden, alle lesbaren persönlichen Daten – wie Name und Kundennummer – unkenntlich machen und bei einer Sammelstelle für Elektrogeräte abgeben (Chipkarten gelten gesetzlich als Elektrogeräte). Alternativ kann die Chipkarte an das Kundencenter der ASEAG geschickt werden. Dann übernimmt die ASEAG die Entsorgung für dich.

Bitte beachte, dass das Ticket natürlich auch nicht mehr gültig ist, nachdem du exmatrikuliert bist – auch wenn es laut Aufdruck noch gültig wäre.

Ich habe mein Semesterticket verloren, was kann ich tun?

Du kannst dir im Kundencenter der ASEAG gegen Vorlage einer gültigen Studienbescheinigung ein neues Ticket ausstellen lassen. Hierfür ist allerdings eine geringe Gebühr fällig.

Kann ich den Mobilitätsbeitrag zurückerstattet bekommen, wenn ich das Ticket nicht nutze?

Nein, das ist i.A. nicht möglich, da das Semesterticket ein solidarisch finanziertes Ticket ist. Es ist nur deswegen so viel günstiger als andere Tickets, weil alle den gleichen Betrag zahlen – unabhängig davon wie viel die einzelne Person das Ticket nutzt. Du kannst den Mobilitätsbeitrag aber in Sonderfällen z.B. aufgrund eines Auslandssemesters oder sozialer Härte zurückerstattet bekommen. Siehe dazu https://www.asta.rwth-aachen.de/entwurf-rueckerstattung-des-mobilitaetsbeitrages/

Kann ich das Semesterticket auch nutzen, wenn ich beurlaubt bin?

Ja, du kannst dein Ticket ganz normal nutzen – außer du hast dir den Mobilitätsbeitrag aufgrund der Beurlaubung zurückerstatten lassen (siehe „Kann ich das Semesterticket auch nutzen, wenn ich den Mobilitätsbeitrag zurückerstattet bekommen habe?“)

Kann ich das Semesterticket auch nutzen, wenn ich den Mobilitätsbeitrag zurückerstattet bekommen habe?

Nein, wenn dir der Mobilitätsbeitrag z.B. aufgrund einer Beurlaubung, eines Auslandsaufenthalts o.ä. zurückerstattet wird, ist dein Ticket in dem Semester nicht gültig, für das die Rückerstattung erfolgt ist. Es gilt dann erst wieder mit Beginn des folgenden Semesters (01.10. oder 01.04.).

Dies gilt nicht bei einer Rückerstattung aufgrund von sozialer Härte. In dem Fall kannst du dein Ticket normal nutzen.

Was passiert, wenn ich mich vor dem Semesterende exmatrikuliere? Ist mein Ticket dann noch bis zum Ende des Semesters gültig?

Nein, die Gültigkeit des Tickets erlischt mit der Exmatrikulation. Wenn du dich mehr als einen Monat vor Semesterende exmatrikulierst, kannst du dir den Mobilitätsbeitrag anteilig erstatten lassen. Alle Informationen dazu findest du unter https://www.asta.rwth-aachen.de/entwurf-rueckerstattung-des-mobilitaetsbeitrages/

Ich wurde ohne Semesterticket kontrolliert, was kann ich tun?

Wenn du ein gültiges Semesterticket besitzt, aber bei einer Kontrolle dein Ticket nicht vorzeigen konntest, weil du es z.B. verloren oder vergessen hast, musst du nicht den vollen Preis fürs „Schwarzfahren“ bezahlen. Du kannst dann dein gültiges Ticket bei der Bahn nachzeigen und musst nur eine Bearbeitungsgebühr bezahlen (ohne Gewähr). Informationen dazu findest du unter https://www.db-fahrpreisnacherhebung.de/faq.html

Kontakt

Die Erstattung des Mobilitätsbeitrags erfolgt entsprechend der Sozialordnung der Studierendenschaft der RWTH Aachen. Bei Fragen bezüglich der Rückerstattung kannst du gerne eine Mail an semesterticket@asta.rwth-aachen.de schicken.